Lately I’ve been watching a lot of videos on Youtube of models and vloggers titled “What I eat in a Day”. I wanted to be inspired to be healthier, but I found out that all the options that they offer aren’t really very cheap.

I work as tutor for kids with learning disability and I get paid per hour, so my income depends on the hours I work. For this reason and because I’m not a big spender, I find difficult for me to follow these “influencers”. One of the thing I can imitate was the dairy free diet, not becuase I choose to, but because I have to, sadly.

So I had to adapt my diet to my needs and to my wallet and this is what I usually eat. Before I start, I have to say that I am an italian girl, so you won’t find anything salty for breakfast. In Italy we go for milk, coffee, biscuits, jam, nutella, cereals e so on.

For breakfast, I usually have a cup of Earl Grey Tea with some biscuits. I tend to avoid coffee, because it makes me jumpy, even if sometimes I love a good cup of cappuccino. Other than that I am big tea lover, in winter and summer.

I don’t snack during the morning, so I go directly to lunch. As a good italian, I grew up eating pasta almost everyday, but since I went to live by myself I tried to eat less of it. So for lunch I usually have a salad with tuna and lactose-free cheese and some whole wheat crackers, or rice with zucchine and basil. Nothing fancy and expensive.

In the afternoon I have another cup of tea, that helps relax. And for dinner I have chicken, Here in Torino, is one of the cheapest meat you can find. At first I was going to hate it, because I was always cooking it in the same way, then I became creative. So everyday is something different, for exemple: chicken with bell peppers cream; chicken with paprika; chicken with soy sauce; curry chicken with vegetables.

So this is what I eat in a day. But I have to say, since I left home, I became more aware of how much the grocery cost, so it’s impossible to follow a model diet if you have limited budget, so you have to rely on your imagination.

Be creative, use vegetables and fruits of season and stock the freezer with chicken, hahah. But once a week eat a good pizza and having an aperitivo once in while never killed anybody. So be careful of what you put in a body, but I don’t obsess over it. Because as Federico Fellini said: “Life is a combination of magic and pasta”.

P.S: if you me to give you some recipes, comment on this post. I swear I am good cook, go ask anybody!

Pubblicato da Patrizia's life

Bachelor in Communication and Media Cultures. Living in Turin, but always ready to explore. Curious about everything and anything. Passionate about food, fashion, beauty, travel, photography. Always battling with anxiety, my worst enemy.

Lascia un commento